2019 France

In 2019, men were recognized by law as the sole heads of families in 41 countries, requiring wives to obey their husbands; an average of 35% of women would become victims during their lives of physical or sexual violence; women were paid on average 23% less than men; and only 45% of countries had achieved parity in secondary education. Deeming this inequality unacceptable, French President Emmanuel Macron decided to make it a priority of the French G7 Presidency.

In renewing the Canadian initiative to establish a Gender Equality Advisory Council in 2018, Macron invited experts from around the world to provide their experience, expertise, and determination to support the global cause of equality between men and women. The first meeting of this Advisory Council was held at the Élysée Palace on 19 February 2019. It identified avenues for action on three priorities:

-Combating violence and discrimination
-Access to education
-Women’s economic empowerment and entrepreneurship

Macron was keen for all members of this Advisory Council, supported by Minister of State Marlène Schiappa and the Council’s secretariat, to propose tangible tools and solutions to enhance gender equality worldwide. Particular focus was given to improving the laws and regulatory frameworks of G7 countries, as no progress would be sustained and effective if it did not have a solid legislative foundation.

The 2019 Gender Equality Advisory Council members were:

Nasrin Sotoudeh (Iran)
Grégoire Thery (France)
Emma Watson (United Kingdom)
Angélique Kidjo (Benin)
Devi Leiper O’Mallery (Cambodia/United States)
Vanessa Moungar (France/Chad)
Denis Mukwege (Democratic Republic of Congo)
Nadia Murad (Iraq)
Irene Natividad (Philippines)
Alexandra Palt (France)
Natalia Ponce de León (Colombia)
Kareen Rispal (France)
Inna Shevchenko (Ukraine)
Rula Jebreal (Italy/Israel/Palestine)
Aranya Johar (India)
Michael Kaufman (Canada)
Melanie Kreis (Germany)
Aïssata Lam (Mauritania)
Jamie McCourt (United States)
Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka (South Africa)
Virginie Morgon (France)
Mercedes Erra (France)
Caroline Fourest (France)
Gargee Ghosh (United States)
Brigitte Grésy (France)
Yoko Hayashi (Japan)
Isabelle Hudon (Canada)
Muriel Ighmouracene (France)
Katja Iversen (Denmark)
Alice Albright (United States)
Lisa Hazuelos (France)
Bochra Belhaj Hmida (Tunisia)
Assia Benziane (France)
Wided Bouchamaoui (Tunisia)
Marie Cervetti (France)

Final Report (PDF) G7 2019 Declaration on Gender Equality and Women’s Empowerment (PDF)

More information on the 2019 France G7 Website.